Get Passionate About Something as a Motivation to Embrace Life!

It’s so important to reinvent yourself so you discover and learn new things.  It’s a way to get excited about life and want to get out there.  I’ve met so many Baby Boomers and seniors who are bored and depressed.  Now that they’ve retired and the kids are grown, they don’t know what to do with themselves.  In my life, I’ve gone from being a mother, wife and career woman (I was a probation officer for 37 years) to becoming an actress and author as a senior.  So, I’m going to start blogging about activities you can do to find something to be passionate about–something to make you want to get out of bed, get dressed, and get out of the house and embrace life!  Today I’ll talk about classes and senior programs.  There are senior citizen centers and learning-in-retirement programs in just about every neighborhood.  They offer wonderful classes, activities, and events.  Just ask friends about them or google “senior citizens center in (your city).”   Then, find their website or better yet, go in person to see what it looks like.  However you do it, get their schedule of classes or their program or whatever they call it.  Find a class, event, bus trip, etc. that sounds interesting, sign up, and go to it.  It’s hard walking into a room full of people where you’re alone and everyone else seems to know each other.  Do it anyway!  Remember, just about everyone there was where you are at the beginning.  It gets easier the more you do it.  HINT:  try something you’ve never done in your life.  That’s how to grow, expand, and find a new passion in life.  That’s what I did, shaking in my shoes at the beginning.  I write all about my journey in my new memoir, including the scared, shaking in my shoes part.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Get Passionate About Something as a Motivation to Embrace Life!

  1. Pingback: Get Passionate About Something as an Impetus to Embrace Life! | Reinventing Myself in My Senior Years

Leave a Reply

