We Don’t Have Time for Negativity!

First, I want to tell you that I was interviewed by an entrepreneur website about how I wrote and now promote my memoir.  You can read it at: http://ideamensch.com/lee-gale-gruen.  Also, I’ll be giving an author talk/book signing on February 22, 2014, 2:00pm, at the Los Angeles City Public Library, Central (Downtown) Branch, Meeting Room A, 630 W. 5th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071.  Now, onto my blog:  Do you know, or are you someone who is often negative or complains a lot?  Now that we’re Baby Boomers or seniors, we don’t have that much time left.  Do we really want to spend it mired in negativity or complaining?  If that’s been a lifestyle, it’s hard to change.  But, being conscious that you’re like that and morphing into a more positive person can pay dividends.  I have a relative who has raised complaining to an art form.  It comes so naturally to her, I’m sure she doesn’t even realize how much she does it and has no idea why people avoid her.  It’s sad.  She’d love to have more friends, but she’s such a turn-off.  Conversely, I had a close friend who had terminal cancer.  She rarely complained about it and tried to live her life to the fullest of her ability.  She even accompanied me and another friend on a cruise just four months before she died.  She worked it in between chemotherapy treatments.  I have another friend who has a debilitating disease.  She calls me to tell me about a wonderful book she’s reading or a good movie she saw on her iPad.  I love talking to her.  These two women are my role models.  Why does negativity come so easily to some?  I suspect that people who fall into this category learned at a very early age that doing their “poor me” routine yielded a big payoff–attention.  We all crave attention.  We engage in all sorts to behaviors, tricks, pursuits to get it.  Being negative or complaining excessively does work for awhile until the receiver has had enough and realizes they’re ineffective in helping you overcome your problems and that all their relationship with you does is bring them down.  If you’ve had a history of a lot of short-term friendships which seem to fizzle out, maybe you’re driving your friends away with negativity or complaining.  We all complain or are negative sometimes.  I’m talking about those who are compulsive about it.  You have a choice in the matter.  Negative, upsetting, bad things don’t just happen to you.  They happen to all of us.  But, conversely, we all have positive, good experiences.  Maybe they’re not earth-shaking, but we can let even small, positive experiences drive our lives if we choose.  Did someone smile at you?  Did someone give you a compliment?  Talk to your friends about those incidents, or maybe a good book you just finished.        NOTE:  Please forward my blog to anyone you think might be interested.  To read my previous blogs, check out “Archives” on the right side of this page.  If you’d like to contact me or be added to my email list to be notified of my future blog postings, send me a personal message by going to my book website: AdventuresWithDadTheBook.com and then clicking on the “Contacts and Links” tab.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

