The Benefits of Solitude

First, I want to remind you that I will be giving an author talk/book signing about my memoir:  Adventures with Dad: A Father and Daughter’s Journey Through a Senior Acting Class.  It will be this Saturday, February 22, 2014, 2:00pm at the Los Angeles City Public Library, Central (Downtown) Branch, Meeting Room A, 630 W. 5th St, Los Angeles, CA 90071.  I hope to see you there.

Now, onto my blog:  In great quantities, solitude can be isolating and destructive.  However, in small quantities, solitude can be comforting and cleansing.  I always used to fear solitude.  It left me alone with my thoughts.  It meant that I didn’t have anything to do.  It meant that no one wanted to be with me.  Now, I find that it replenishes me.  It gives me space from the demands of the world–down time.  Solitude enables my creativity.  When I’m alone, my mind is free to wander.  That’s when I come up with some of my best thoughts.  Sometimes, solitude helps when life becomes too overwhelming.  During that time, I give myself permission to take a mental vacation.  I try hard not to make any big decisions, not to have any conflicts, engage only in non-demanding activities, and  just let my mind drift.  Solitude in limited amounts can be refreshing, like sleep.  It can help you pace yourself, stop your hectic running, get off the merry-go-round for awhile.  Don’t fear solitude.  In controlled amounts, it can be your friend.   NOTE:  Please forward my blog to anyone who might be interested.  To read my previous blogs, click on the entries under “Archives” on the lower right side of this page.  If you’d like to be notified of my future blog postings or contribute a guest blog, you can contact me at my book website: AdventuresWithDadTheBook.com under the “Contacts & Links” tab.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Benefits of Solitude

  1. leah marks

    Hi Lee Gale,
    Just read your blog and it hit home. Hope all is great in your life and maybe we could meet half way for lunch??

    Leah

Leave a Reply

