Why I Write

LG in Fire  Truck     6-28-14Here I am having fun in a fire truck.  It may have been for the kids, but I jumped right in!

NEWS:  I will be giving an author talk/book signing on July 27, 2014 (time to be determined) at Maria’s Italian Restaurant, 16608 Ventura Blvd, Encino, CA 91436. Click here on my website link (Appearances tab) for the time: AdventuresWithDadTheBook.com   Also, an article I wrote called “Promoting My Book” was published as the Featured Article in “Funds for Writers,” an online writers’ newsletter. Click here on this link and scroll down to read it: http://archive.aweber.com/fundsforwriters/Io0Ef/h/FundsforWriters_June_27_.htm

Now, onto my blog:

A friend commented recently that in my writing I seem to understand and express so much about human nature, and she wondered how I was able to do that. I told her that I had learned a lot about the human condition from my probationers when I was a probation officer for 37 years. They often revealed their feelings to me, probably because I wasn’t a part of their personal lives, and they felt safe in doing so. That helped me understand my own fears, joys, frailties, goals, desires, and on and on. I’ve always been introspective, and that’s probably why I was drawn to a job working intimately with people.

It’s only been a handful of years since I discovered that when I write, thoughts, feelings, and emotions spring forth that I didn’t even realize I had. Writing is an incredible process for revealing yourself to yourself. Even those who write fiction insert so much that is personal. As I’ve mentioned in a prior blog, that’s why therapists recommend their clients keep a journal. We each think we’re unique, and we probably are in small ways. However, I believe that life’s processes are universal; most of us have had the same experiences in one form or another. I like sharing my own personal discoveries, because if I’m able to help a fellow traveler on this planet, I feel satisfied and that I’m giving back to the community.

Someone else asked me why I reveal so much about myself in my writing.  I had to think about that for awhile, but here’s my answer. At this stage of my life, I’m trying to confront and overcome the things that have controlled me for so many years, and I have used my blog as well as my published memoir, Adventures with Dad: A Father and Daughter’s Journey Through a Senior Acting Class, to do that. So, my motives aren’t totally altruistic–are anyone’s?  I get a payback by passing along my thoughts to others.  You might, too.

If you want to be notified when I post a new blog, click on the “Follow” button in the upper right corner of this page and fill in the information. To read my previous blogs, find them just under the Follow button entitled “Recent Posts” or “Archives.” Please pass my blog along to anyone who might be interested.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why I Write

  1. leah marks

    Always so good to hear from you thru your blog. Keep it coming.

  2. Lee Gale, One of your blog posts has been suggested to me to include in an issue of the East Texas Writers Association’s monthly newsletter, The Roughdraft. If you would be willing to give us permission to use one of your blog posts, Educate Yourself on Marketing, please contact me via my email address. Thanks – Kassy Paris

Leave a Reply

