My New Get-me-from-here-to-there

This blog is written by Lee Gale Gruen to help Baby Boomers, seniors, and those soon to retire find joy, excitement, and satisfaction in life after retirement. Her public lecture on this subject is titled, “Reinventing Yourself in Your Retirement.” Her memoir, available by clicking here Amazon.com, is: Adventures with Dad: A Father and Daughter’s Journey Through a Senior Acting Class. Click here for her website: http://AdventuresWithDadTheBook.com

Now, on to my blog:

my-carYes, I bought another one recently because my sixteen-year-old one conked out. You call it a car or automobile. I call it a get-me-from-here-to-there. That’s its purpose. A bit of comfort is nice: protection from the sun and wind, controlled climate, a smooth ride. In case you weren’t aware, the year, brand, color, horsepower, etc. don’t add to that.

Here’s a not-so-secret secret.  I bought a used one even though I could afford a new one. The reason: I didn’t like the styling or size of the new, small SUVs which is what I wanted. I test drove almost every brand out there but wasn’t satisfied with anything available. So, I researched and found the most recent  year I could that had the features which matched my needs.

Our vehicle of choice has become a status symbol with full bragging rights. My get-me-from-here-to-there is better than your get-me-from-here-to-there, ergo I’m richer, more successful, more desirable, more popular, more lovable, (add the descriptor of your choice), etc.

We humans have lots of similar examples in life. Let’s name a few: job, house, furniture,  clothing, vacation, spouse, pet, and even our innocent children. Now, come on, folks; you’re still the same freckle faced, too plump, too skinny, too tall, too short, too (add the descriptor of your choice) human that you always were.

Wrapped in an overly expensive (add the material possession, position, relationship, etc. of your choice) doesn’t make you any different. It also doesn’t make you better than anyone else. That comes from the inside. So, cut the crap and stop trying to buy your way into acceptability. It won’t work. For that, you must become a mensch.

Be kind, donate to a good cause those dollars you waste on the toy du jour, mentor someone, give your time and energy to something worthy that isn’t your own aggrandizement. Those are the things that will gain you admiration. Throwing money around on status symbols only makes people snicker behind your back mumbling words like: pathetic.

 ***

Please forward my blog to anyone who might be interested and post it on your Facebook, Twitter and other social media. To reprint any material, contact me for permission at:  gowergulch@yahoo.com. If you want to be automatically notified when I post a new blog, click on the “Follow” button in the upper right corner of this page and fill in the information. To read my other blog posts, scroll down on this page or click on “Recent Posts” or “Archives” under the Follow button. To opt out of receiving this blog, contact me at the aforementioned email address, let me know, and I’ll remove you from the list.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My New Get-me-from-here-to-there

  1. good sensible advice! I’ve had good luck with buying cars that only have a few miles on them — they’re considered used yet are like new 🙂

  2. That is the way to get the most bang for your buck, car-wise at least!

  3. Roger Trammell

    I agree, LGG, my Honda Accord is 10 years old and still kickin. Regular checkups and oil changes make it run like new. My mechanic is still after me to sell it to him. I think that some people believe in the adages, “Too much is not enough.” and “He who dies with the most toys wins.” I feel for them. But, life is choices.
    Rog

    • I would have kept my 1998 Honda CRV forever, but it started having enough mechanical problems after 120,000 miles that I felt it wasn’t safe. Darn; I loved that car.

Leave a Reply

