Nature’s Floor Show

This blog is written by Lee Gale Gruen to help Baby Boomers, seniors, and those soon to retire find joy, excitement, and satisfaction in life after retirement. Her public lecture on this subject is titled, “Reinventing Yourself in Your Retirement.” Her memoir, available by clicking here Amazon.com, is: Adventures with Dad: A Father and Daughter’s Journey Through a Senior Acting Class. Click here for her website: http://AdventuresWithDadTheBook.com

Now, on to my blog:

Bird in tree outside my window 3-16-17I was doing my morning back exercises when I glanced through my window and spied this guy hanging out on a nearby tree branch. What could be more inspiring? I am regaled lately with a variety of birds hovering, preaching, pecking, warbling, chirping, soaring, and all of the other things birds do. I have never been a “birder,” but I am rejoicing in their exaltation. They tell me that spring is here, and that I, too, can exalt in it.

Do you look out the window of your house, car, office, or any other structure in which you find yourself with glass interruptions in its solidity? I don’t mean a glance while you’re doing much more important business. I mean really look!

Tree outside my window 3-15-17

There’s so much to see. Here’s another photo from my window of a glorious flowering tree. The plants, bushes and trees dress up in springtime for our pleasure. Nature offers us a free floor show.  Don’t forget to attend.

We all have interesting things to observe around us wherever we live. Here are some we might spy looking out of windows: hills or mountains, children playing, passersby strolling, dogs running, cars of all shapes and colors, and on and on.

Let the visual panoply engulf you. Feel yourself drawn into the details of a leaf, a bird searching the grass for food, a ball bouncing away from its thrower. These sights and sounds are cleansing. Be mindful; notice as you are being swept into the experience; allow it to overtake you. Don’t worry, you can always go back to that important business you left, refreshed and invigorated.  And, this psychic infusion doesn’t require dipping into your wallet.

***

Please forward my blog to anyone who might be interested and post it on your Facebook, Twitter and other social media. To reprint any material, contact me for permission at:  gowergulch@yahoo.com. If you want to be automatically notified when I post a new blog, click on the “Follow” button in the upper right corner of this page and fill in the information. To read my other blog posts, scroll down on this page or click on “Recent Posts” or “Archives” under the Follow button. To opt out of receiving this blog, contact me at the aforementioned email address, let me know, and I’ll remove you from the list.

4 Comments

Filed under active seniors, Baby boomers, gerontology, healthy aging, longevity, reinvention, retirement, second acts, seniors, successful aging, wellness

4 responses to “Nature’s Floor Show

  1. Sheila Sauber

    Love your blog. We just watched a big raven swoop down & snatch up a dove on my outside table. All that was left on my deck were feathers. That was a first for us. Glad you’re enjoying nature. What classes are you enjoying these days? We just enjoyed a few days in NYC and attended a Bat Mitzvah on Long Island. Be well. Love, Sheila

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Wow! I’ve never seen anything like that. Nature can also be raw.
    I’m attending a lot of interesting groups including: philosophy and a published writer’s group. I’m going to check out a hiking group and a physics group. I also want to resume ballroom dancing lessons. Oh yeah, I’m also training to be a docent at an old ranch house leading tours. Although it sounds like a lot, I only do each once or twice a month.

  3. Roger Trammell

    Every morning, I look for my hummingbird friend to flit around the greenery in the yard next door. It’s as reliable as clockwork…7:30. I too love the sounds of birds singing to remind me that it’s spring tiime.
    Thanks, LGG
    Roger

    • I love watching the hummingbirds in my backyard, too. They’re amazing–such hyper little things. A few times I’ve seen one actually land on the branch of a bush and perch for awhile. I guess even hummingbirds need to rest. I haven’t been aware that they come at a specific time like yours. I’ll have to check on that.

Leave a Reply

